Skip to content
Rochdale Counts — Rochdale, in numbers.Local help →

Rochdale, in numbers

People and living standards

Rochdale council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rochdale council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 203,928 in 1991 to 237,641 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rochdale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 204,691 people in 1996; 237,641 people in 2025. 16.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rochdale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991203,928
1992204,575
1993205,234
1994205,256
1995205,222
1996204,691
1997204,038
1998204,499
1999204,865
2000206,088
2001206,440
2002206,697
2003207,528
2004207,286
2005207,200
2006207,845
2007208,393
2008209,666
2009210,248
2010210,758
2011211,929
2012212,345
2013212,503
2014213,462
2015214,560
2016216,251
2017218,492
2018219,969
2019222,042
2020223,024
2021224,127
2022227,532
2023230,729
2024234,919
2025237,641
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rochdale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,838 people in 1996; 51,000 people in 2025. 6.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rochdale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199147,275
199247,761
199348,263
199448,497
199548,394
199647,838
199747,506
199847,303
199947,460
200047,314
200146,764
200246,487
200346,254
200445,706
200545,415
200645,125
200744,898
200844,964
200944,842
201044,851
201144,758
201244,860
201344,919
201445,123
201545,550
201646,356
201747,399
201847,893
201948,514
202048,756
202148,809
202249,516
202350,219
202450,943
202551,000
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rochdale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 127,220 people in 1996; 147,322 people in 2025. 15.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rochdale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991127,399
1992127,460
1993127,543
1994127,333
1995127,218
1996127,220
1997127,029
1998127,725
1999128,132
2000129,389
2001130,233
2002130,732
2003131,826
2004132,064
2005132,345
2006133,343
2007134,058
2008134,971
2009135,295
2010135,312
2011136,135
2012135,313
2013134,653
2014134,772
2015134,908
2016135,280
2017135,926
2018136,368
2019137,141
2020137,574
2021138,256
2022140,478
2023142,470
2024145,370
2025147,322
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rochdale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,633 people in 1996; 39,319 people in 2025. 32.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rochdale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,254
199229,354
199329,428
199429,426
199529,610
199629,633
199729,503
199829,471
199929,273
200029,385
200129,443
200229,478
200329,448
200429,516
200529,440
200629,377
200729,437
200829,731
200930,111
201030,595
201131,036
201232,172
201332,931
201433,567
201534,102
201634,615
201735,167
201835,708
201936,387
202036,694
202137,062
202237,538
202338,040
202438,606
202539,319
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 223,771 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rochdale · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh41,40618.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7,9273.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5,2842.4%
White165,48574%
Other ethnic group3,6691.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 211,699 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rochdale · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White172,87481.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,5691.7%
Asian/Asian British31,63014.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,7701.3%
Other ethnic group8560.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 205,357 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rochdale · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White181,89188.6%
Mixed1,9060.9%
Asian/Asian British20,1229.8%
Black/Black British6510.3%
Chinese/Other7870.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 26.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rochdale council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,358 per person in 1997; £19,053 per person in 2024. 128% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rochdale council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,358
19988,417
19999,016
20009,358
20019,734
20029,922
200310,159
200410,596
200510,885
200611,290
200711,756
200811,830
200912,300
201012,400
201112,559
201213,144
201313,542
201413,955
201514,424
201614,497
201714,721
201815,016
201915,704
202015,979
202116,370
202217,087
202317,988
202419,053
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rochdale council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -21.2% in 1997; -26.6% in 2024. 5.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rochdale council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-21.2
1998-22.3
1999-20.3
2000-21.4
2001-21.3
2002-21.6
2003-22.1
2004-21.9
2005-22.6
2006-22.9
2007-23.4
2008-24.9
2009-23.2
2010-23.2
2011-22.9
2012-22.2
2013-22.7
2014-22.8
2015-24.2
2016-24.7
2017-25.3
2018-26.4
2019-25.5
2020-23.9
2021-25.1
2022-25.6
2023-26.4
2024-26.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54%

21 March 2021 · Rochdale council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

23.3%

21 March 2021 · Rochdale council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.2%

21 March 2021 · Rochdale council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.4%

21 March 2021 · Rochdale council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£209,000

July 2026 · Rochdale council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£855

August 2026 · Rochdale council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.